My 2018 Eyeshadow Palette Challenge

Last summer I did my 25 Eyeshadow Palette Challenge to force me to get more use of the eyeshadow palettes that I often forget about, and it really worked. It also helped me assess whether I wanted to keep things in my collection.

I keep a spreadsheet of all the makeup I get and keep track of how many times I wear each item, so I can see how much it costs me per use. I have done this with my clothing since 2011, and I started tracking my makeup purchases when I really got into it last year – November 25, 2016.

I just reviewed my spreadsheet and I own a disturbing 106 eyeshadow palettes, 96 of which I have purchased in the past year (technically year and two months – since Nov. 25, 2016). This is not even to mention the palettes I have bought and returned. No wonder I’m not getting use out of my palettes!

Let me also take a moment to admit that I have a problem. Clearly I buy way too much makeup. I have an extremely addictive personality and it’s really easy for me to get out of control, especially with new stuff being constantly released.

This year I want to really reign in my spending, and actually get use of the gorgeous, barely-used items that I already own.

What I learned from past experience

I found in my 25 Eyeshadow Palette Challenge that while I was able to try a lot, I really needed a couple more uses to actually determine if I liked a palette and wanted to keep it in my collection.

When I buy new palettes, I generally use them three times trying three different looks before determining if I want to keep it. I don’t wear it three days in a row, because I like to wear the palette that fits my mood each day, and having to stick to one palette cramps my creativity!

That said, I see so many youtubers and bloggers who pick one palette to use for a whole week. It seems like you need a longer span of time to actually determine if you like a palette, and try some different looks.

The Challenge

I decided to use one palette three different ways for three days in a row. This gives me the chance to get a few days to try the palette, while offering enough variation that I don’t get bored.

I originally planned to use palettes from the same brand all in a row, like the Urban Decay Naked palettes and the Too Faced Chocolate Bar palettes. I did start with the original Naked palette, but after using browns for three days I was dying for some colour.

In order to make this work for me and my personality, I decided to just pick whatever palettes I feel like using – but use it for three days.

Progress

So far this is working for me, and I am enjoying the challenge of coming up with three different looks for each palette. I tend to have one or to go-to looks that I always wear when I use a certain palette, and this is forcing me out of my comfort zone.

I have used the following palettes so far:

  1. Urban Decay Naked Palette
    • Even though this palette is pretty old, I still think it performs well. It’s just boring. The quality is good, and I came up with some pretty looks, but using it for three days was hard! I wouldn’t purchase again, but I like having it in my collection. Also, I am sentimental.
  2. Clionadh Cosmetics Woodlands Matte bundle and Hex single
    • Clionadh Cosmetics is an indie brand from Toronto so I really wanted to try them out. The Woodland Mattes bundle (technically not a palette) looked stunning and swatches well, but I find they blend to almost nothing, and the pigmentation when you get them on the eye just isn’t there. However, the single shadow I bought at the same time (and keep in the same palette), Hex, is absolutely stunning.
  3. Tarte Tartelette in Bloom Palette
    • This is one of my top bitch palettes. LOVE LOVE LOVE. The rosy neutrals are my favourite type of shade and I really enjoy the different crease options. The one thing about this palette is that I really wanted to just use the same look over and over again. It’s just so perfect, I don’t want to use the other shadows!
  4. Clionadh Cosmetics Paleo Palette
    • The Paleo palette is gorgeous and very unique. I really don’t have anything like it, and I love the hand-painted packaging. There are two mattes and ten shimmers, and they all perform exceptionally well. I was really impressed with the mattes in this palette, so I’m surprised at how different the Woodlands mattes performed.

Declutter

I have decided to get rid of three palettes – but not ones I wore for three days. The three palettes I am passing on are Stila 5-pans from the 2014 holiday season. I tried two of them in the 25 palette challenge, and I just didn’t have fun working with them (and if that’s not the point, what is??). I have gone back and forth on whether or not to keep them, and I DON’T EVEN KNOW WHY. I am probably a hoarder. I have such a hard time getting rid of things!!!

 

7 thoughts on “My 2018 Eyeshadow Palette Challenge

  1. I didn’t even know this was a thing! I might try and do this with my palettes because I always stick with the basics and never get a full use out of them. This was a great post and was perfect for my very boring day at work. I would love to see the looks you create! I’m not sure if you want to post them or not.

  2. Pingback: 2018 Eyeshadow Palette Challenge – Progress Update 1 | theopulentyonge

  3. Pingback: Tarte Spring Sale Haul | theopulentyonge

  4. Pingback: 2018 Eyeshadow Palette Challenge – Progress Update 5 – Fun with Tarte | theopulentyonge

  5. Pingback: 2018 Eyeshadow Palette Challenge – Progress Update 6 – Too Faced | theopulentyonge

Leave a comment